Distinguished Professor recognized with 2023 Canola Award of Excellence

Winnipeg, Manitoba – February 15, 2023 – The Manitoba Canola Growers Association (MCGA) is presenting the Canola Award of Excellence to Michael Eskin, Distinguished Professor in the Department of Food and Human Nutritional Sciences at the University of Manitoba (U of M), for his crucial role in the development of canola oil at the CropConnect Conference banquet in Winnipeg this evening.

“Dr. Eskin’s involvement in canola oil research throughout his career is what made him stand out,” says Chuck Fossay, president, MCGA. “From his early involvement in the development of canola oil, to his efforts in solving problems associated with the oil over the years, to his current work with colleagues looking at some of the antioxidant and anti-cancer properties of the phenolics in canola. Dr. Eskin has a long list of accomplishments and MCGA is thrilled to recognize him with this award.”

Eskin joined the U of M in 1968 when Baldur Stefansson and Keith Downey were cross-breeding rapeseed in the process of developing canola. “My colleague, the late professor Marion Vaisey-Genser, sensory specialist, pulled me into the research. My role was to look at the composition, stability and performance of the oil that would become canola. We were commissioned by the Canola Council of Canada to prepare the first major booklet on canola oil to promote its science and technology to health professionals and food industry people around the world.”

When advised about the award, Eskin was honoured to accept and appreciated the recognition from Manitoba canola growers, “the ones who produce this product, a significant contributor to the economy of Manitoba. Thank you for this honour.”

Manitoba Canola Growers would like to thank Eskin for his active role in the development of canola oil, his continuous work on improving the oil, and for his contributions to the sustained growth and prosperity of Manitoba’s canola industry. For more information, please visit canolagrowers.com/about-mcga/canola-award-of-excellence.


About the Canola Award of Excellence: The Canola Award of Excellence is presented annually and recognizes the accomplishments of individuals and organizations for contributions to the sustained growth and prosperity of Manitoba’s canola industry. The award was first presented in 2008 to Dr. Baldur Stefansson for his work in creating a new edible oil seed which we know today as canola.

Media Contact:

Carrie Livingston

Manitoba Canola Growers Association

204-771-8650 | carrie@nullcanolagrowers.com

  • Canola Growers Newsletter

    Maximize your membership value by staying up to date on information, events and services focused on farm success.



  • Hello Canola Newsletter

    When you get to know Canadian Canola, you might just fall in love.